That Elusive Pineapple Mu Mu !!

Honolulu….flying Hawaiian Air with their super duper luggage allowance. The weather while still very warm, is cooled by the sea breeze, and is such a change after the relentless 105 – 110 of Arizona and New Mexico. My airbnb is fantastic, with stunning view of Waikiki-and while out of the main drag, it is near the beach and the main shopping centre.
image
Still smarting about my lost cigarette gun lighter, but glad to be almost home with my ‘surplus luggage’ I searched valiantly for a pineapple retro mu mu, which I first clapped eyes on in 2000 . Then I had FH in tow, breathing down my neck and complaining about reckless expenditure on retro pineapple mu mu’s.- now I was free to buy whatever I liked..but alas not a pineapple mu mu in sight…I had to be content with a pineapple necklace and earrings!

Visited the Polynesian Cultural Centre, about an hours drive out of the city- on the other side of the mountain range. Run by the Morman church, which appears to be influential in these parts.- no champagne there either! Most of the students from the Bingham Young University- ( a bit of a give away! ) are the performers and dancers. It is bit like Disney Land, and just as crowded.
image
There is a island feast buffet, which was most unexciting, and an evening performance which was nowhere near as professional as the sound and light show in Guilin in China….I found it all a bit tedious and repetitive. However the New Zealand performance was outstanding!
image
I made the mistake of catching the ’ free trolley’ to the local village, only to discover it was a free trip to visit the ‘temple’ with tour guides Sister Kyle Jane and Sister Barbie Sue from Idaho…and then you get to fill out a card with your details…a calling card for the missionaries to come knocking!
image
Well after all that excitement, I had to visit the only royal palace in America…the home of the Hawaiian Royal Family. Apparently the royal family were all good surfers, which is why they lived near Waikiki – there was also a lack of marriages and children, an interesting fact that led to all sorts of scenarios.
image

image

The ocean was warm, the shopping was great- it was a perfect stopover on the way home! Then finally I boarded good ol Hawaiian Air with even more luggage, ( it was the Maceys sale!) and on to Syders…thankfully it was a day flight which is not quite as disturbing as a night time one…and I had the family with 3 hyped up children!
Arrived in Sydney and it was COLD! And wet……my darling daughter had a bottle of bubbly waiting for me, and gave me her bed to sleep in..how nice! Then a day or so of trendy inner city hipster ism and wonderful restaurants,and the train to Bomaderry, where the Panama Hat met me! It was soooo nice to see him again! Fish and chips at the best place on the south coast- Burrill Lake…..and the home. Panama had decorated my house- food in the fridge and a bottle of Cointreau …and then champers……but it was Cold and Wet!
image
Travelling solo had its ups and downs….I am glad I did it, and I could do exactly what I wanted to, but there were times when I would have liked a companion- especially when I got lost in New York !
The bus tour made the travelling easy and took a lot of the hassle out getting from A to B. however it is not my preferred travelling style. I enjoyed America, and felt right at home in New Mexico.- the diversity was amazing.
I will continue my blog as I travel through the next year…and then onto Cuba and Mexico….so keep reading and email me with any comments..and get others to read it..especially any other SOFTIES……..